“star”

Before a painting event, I usually get to spend some time with the Lord to seek for what message He wants to share through my art. However, being a mum of three little ones and having them sick this past week, there really was no “time with the Lord” leading up to this REACH event at Grace Farms.

© copyright 2019. Rosie Jon . All Rights Reserved.

[REACH worship night @gracecommunitychurchnc]

Once I finally found a moment to be still, I remembered what my six year old had shared with me a couple of nights ago. He told me about a dream that he had and I was painting – I was painting a star.

It made me wonder about the meaning of this star. Then I was reminded about the star that the wise men followed to find Jesus. And it made me think about which star guides me in my life when I’m feeling lost or feel like I don’t have the wisdom to be the best mum I want to be.

What is it that makes my heart sing? What thoughts, guided by the light of this star make my heart sing? So I said a prayer,


“Dear Lord, what truths do you want me to know?”


and I was able to start the creation of this art by writing down the truths that I could hear in my heart…

you are fearfully and wonderfully made

you are enough

you are chosen

you are a child of God

you are never alone

you are a warrior

you are a new creation

you are loved

and you are worthy

And these truths shine from my heart because He is the star that lives inside my heart…

© copyright 2019. Rosie Jon . All Rights Reserved.

[“star” painted by the toes of Rosie Jon | 24” x 36” Acrylics, alcohol inks and mixed media | for REACH worship night @gracecommunitychurchnc]

Matthew‬ ‭2:2,10‬(NIV‬‬)

“‘Where is the one who has been born king of the Jews? We saw his star when it rose and have come to worship him.’ When they saw the star, they were overjoyed.”

Leave a comment