#365daysofextraordinaryratherthanordinary

Happy New Year 2017!

2016 was an eventful year.  There were lots to be thankful for despite all the craziness of everything that happened in the world.  I mean, I know it was a sad year with many favoured celebrities passing away, but just imagine how amazing it would be if all of them made it to Heaven.  I’d like to imagine that at the end of 2016, Heaven opened its gates with a glorious rendition of the “Star Wars” theme song played and sung by Prince, David Bowie and George Michael with Jesus opening His arms saying, “I Am your Father!”

Now, that’s just my imagination, but all I can say is that I am thankful that I believe in a Heaven that will welcome me with open arms in unimaginable glory when my time on Earth is done.

Recently, an old school teacher whom I reconnected with through facebook sent me this picture of me when I was about 7-8 years old.

© copyright 2017. Rosie Jon . All Rights Reserved.

It instantly took me back in time to this little version of me – completely fearless and carefree!

I remember how I couldn’t grab onto the swing chains tightly because I had no hands, but I was never afraid to go up higher and higher like I was flying.

I can still remember the air that breezed through my hair in that moment.  It felt different – it was exhilarating – it was liberating.  My heart was always beating fast because I knew that there was the risk of me falling off the swing, but I loved to prove that there was nothing impossible!

And as I relived this moment for a few seconds, I then swung back to the future of my current adult self – sleep-deprived, exhausted and my hair no longer flowing freely in the air but being pulled by my 6 month old baby.

Ah, I know, reality can be a real let-down!

The truth is, I do have a choice.  I could look at this aged version of myself and think that I could never feel that youthful freedom again or I could choose to believe that this is not true and that this freedom still exists.  It is a choice I need to make everyday – to not hold onto the chains of fear, but to let go and fly freely into the hands of a loving Father who will always be there to rescue me.

Psalm 31:5 (NIV)

“Into your hands I commit my spirit; deliver me, Lord, my faithful God.”

Now that I am a mother, I have learnt that I cannot strive for perfection, but instead, I am able to see that everything is perfectly imperfect.  And this is what makes every detail of my life extraordinary rather than ordinary.  Not because my life is perfect, but because life can never be ordinary once you know it is all in God’s hands – He makes beautiful things out of our broken pieces.  There is a happy ending.

Ecclesiastes 3:11 (NIV)

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.”

And every time I choose to overcome fear, I am back on that swing ready to take any height that the Lord will take me and every piece of my life becomes part of something extraordinary!

— Please follow me on my instagram as I step into the New Year with the challenge to document 365 days of extraordinary rather than ordinary with hashtag #365daysofextraordinaryratherthanordinary    

Leave a Reply

