#iamthankful2016andmore to be continued….

at first, when i embarked on this challenge to post on instagram, moments to be thankful for (for each of my children) during the full 30 days of november, i hadn’t thought about how it would become more than just being thankful.  i soon realised that more blessings would be revealed to me as i opened this gift of thanksgiving.

i knew i didn’t want to just capture images and simply say, “i’m thankful”, but i wanted to be purposefully and intentionally thankful; especially during the challenging times (i.e. in the late afternoon hours when the kids are each like a time bomb ticking down to meltdown time)!  unfortunately, this became trickier as daylight saving changes and my 8 year old having homework to do meant less outdoor playtime and more craziness happening inside the house.  with limited use of my injured foot making me a little less patient and less able to do even the daily task of changing baby z’s nappies (diapers) easily, i soon recognised the spiritual warfare that i was being faced with.  i even started becoming unhappy with my blury iphone pictures and started to question whether i was being too optimistic thinking i could find the time and effort to do this for 30 days.  i mean, most of my time was spent having a baby attached to my breasts whilst mayhem happened around me, how could i possibly make time to be purposefully and intentionally thankful and find these moments for each child – let alone, equally?  

i didn’t want to take a picture of my kids when i wasn’t “feeling it” and i knew i couldn’t skip a child for that day just because one was having a meltdown or one decided throwing himself on top of his baby sister was a good idea or one had an explosive poo that went up her whole back.  in fact, it took some spiritual discipline to put my heart in the right place to truly capture my “thankful moments”.  and as soon as my heart turned towards gratitude, things changed – there was more joy and light and even my children changed.

now 30 days and 90 “thankful moments” later, all i can say is that i am thankfuland more thankful than ever

and this gratitude journey will continue….
© copyright 2016. Rosie Jon . All Rights Reserved.

2 Corinthians 9:15 (NIV)

“Thanks be to God for his indescribable gift!”

Leave a Reply

