every day, every moment is a victory….

recently, a mum at my child’s school saw me at a school event and asked if i was able to hold my baby. i told her, “yes, i can!” and showed her how i hold my own baby. she continued to look nervous thinking i was going to drop her so i had to reassure her and remind her that this was my third and i held all three of my babies that way.  

this made me think about one of my favourite biblical verses:


Matthew 17:20
(NLT)

“You don’t have enough faith,” Jesus told them. “I tell you the truth, if you had faith even as small as a mustard seed, you could say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it would move. Nothing would be impossible.” 

from a really young age, i always believed in “nothing would be impossible” and after becoming a mother, those words have resonated inside me even more.

the moment the nurse handed over my firstborn to me asking if i was sure about it, i remember feeling fully confident that i could hold him even though i had never held a newborn in my life before.  my heart told me, “yes, you can!” and in that moment when my son was put into my arms, he held his head up strong. From that moment, I knew that he knew, that mummy and him were a team and that we were going to do fine. and ever since, my children and i do our best to work as a team, as one.  the phrase, “i can’t”, is treated like a swear word and replaced with, “yes, we can!”

with faith, i take each day one at a time; facing each challenge with joy as i change nappies (diapers) and try to multitask with my toes.  my days are most certainly not perfect, but i look at my achievements as little victories – they are what make each day and moment become a victory. 

it doesn’t matter what others think of me. what matters most is that i am perfectly imperfect, but still the best mummy to my beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

