stormy night….

last night was a rough one just like the rain storm.  and phew! glad we got through it!

with a husband sick in bed, a crying baby struggling to settle down and two hungry boys waiting for dinner and then one of them throwing up his dinner afterwards, the picture of my reality was u.g.l.y. (unbearably-gone-low-you can say).

it was as if i was on a boat in the midst of a storm, desperately trying to keep the boat from sinking (thankfully, it was just a sailboat).  my family needed me – and not just me – they needed a supermum.  but a gentle voice gave me a supernatural nudge saying, “i got this” and so i repeated those words silently to myself.

as i cleaned up all the puke and got the boys showered and ready for bed with the baby’s crying making up the background soundtrack of this horror movie, i soon found myself sat on the chaise in the boys’ bedroom with two boys tucked into their beds and a baby on my bosom.  yes! we made it to bedtime!

and when it came to changing baby z’s nappy (diaper), without any hesitation, the boys jumped right in to give a lending hand.
© copyright 2016. Rosie Jon . All Rights Reserved.
in the midst of the chaos, i let my boys share their hands to help me and sweet baby z smiled for us 🙂

afterwards, my boys tucked themselves back into bed and said their prayers.  then when i turned on my music playlist (which is set to shuffle mode), jeremy camp’s “overcome” came on and all three of my little angels sweetly drifted off to sleep as the next track “silent night” started playing…

you see, miracles do happen no matter how small.  and in all our troubles, God uses us to share our gifts, hands and feet (and toes) to help each other.  

1 Peter 4:10 (NIV)

“Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.”
 
1 Timothy 6:18 (NIV)

“Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share.”

Leave a Reply

