the celementine story…

sometimes people come into our lives and leave a significant imprint, sometimes they come as guardian angels and sometimes they enter our lives too briefly, but they remain in our hearts for a long time…

truth is, i have a disability – i’m not talking about my physical disability – but i struggle with asking for help. i’m just too stubbornly independent and want to avoid burdening anyone with my needs.  i know, i know… it’s silly 😉

a couple of years ago, i was at an event and desperately needed to quench my thirst with a clementine that i was able to grab from a fruit bowl.  it didn’t take long for me to realise that it was one of those clementines that are not easy to peel. i looked around the room and saw that everyone had already gone back to their seats and i couldn’t see anyone i knew well enough to go upto to ask for help.  i held the clementine between my little arms and went back to my seat like everybody else, trying to overcome my thirst by swallowing my saliva.  

but soon, my mouth was too dry to even swallow anything.  i looked to my side and saw a lady who looked kind enough for me to attempt to ask for help.  as i started to muster up the courage to ask this stranger to peel this clementine for me, fear crept in.  the voice in my head kept saying, “you don’t really need to eat this clementine, do you? why would you want to disturb her just to peel this clementine?” then i started to cough from the dryness of my throat.  i knew i had to approach her with the clementine and ask her for help or leave the room so not to interrupt the event with my coughing.  thankfully, the lady was happy to peel it for me and i was able to quench my thirst with the sweet and juicy clementine and enjoy the rest of the event.

© copyright 2016. Rosie Jon . All Rights Reserved.later on, i was surprised when it was the lady who wanted to thank me for blessing her with the opportunity to help me.  she shared how it made her realise that we are all in need of help; and God wants us to see that we each need help – we just need to ask.  

this started me thinking differently about my needs.  maybe asking for help is not so much as burdening that person, but actually blessing that person.

then a few days after the event, i was at my friend k’s house and as i entered her kitchen she handed me a fruit to eat – a peeled clementine!  i hadn’t asked her for it nor had i told her about my clementine story from the event i went to a few days ago.  but the message was so clear to me in that moment – i asked and it was given to me and then i was blessed with even more.

ever since, i have experienced the generosity of God’s love that overflows when i overcome my fears and let Him peel my layers to share the ripened fruit within my soul.  i really hope that my relationship with you gives you a sweet taste of this fruit.

and today, i came across this message:

you get out of life what you have the courage to ask for.

thus, i am grateful for all those who have a special place in my heart because i get to share life’s blessings with you….

Matthew 7:7-8 (NIV)
 
“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.

For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.”

– written whilst breastfeeding baby z

Leave a Reply

