sweetest mom-ent….

© copyright 2016. Rosie Jon . All Rights Reserved.

My dearest 7 year old son wrote this for our favourite local icecream and sweet shop’s “sweetest mom” essay competition for mother’s day.

He was so excited to write his first essay filled with hope and anticipation of winning a prize – free icecream!  At first, I doubted a little about whether his heart for writing this essay was in the right place, but as I watched him write each word one by one, my heart began to change too.

Even though my son’s world is currently all about baseball, MLB and more baseball, it was amazing to watch him so determined to write this by himself when about seven months ago we were sat in a PPT meeting being told that writing was the most challenging for him.  But thanks to the power of prayer and his amazing Special Ed team at school, we have been able to see the miracles of this sweet boy’s love for learning.

Seeing him write each word carefully and intently made my heart warm as he looked so focused in writing something that seemed to mean everything to him in that moment.  It was the first and only full 15-20 minutes of the day when not even the word “baseball” was mentioned.

The joy in his face after completing his writing filled me with great joy too.  It didn’t matter whether he was going to win free icecream or not, it was just an incredibly special moment where I could tell him, “To me, you are a winner!”

© copyright 2016. Rosie Jon . All Rights Reserved.
This gave me an opportunity to ask myself… is my heart focused and in the right place?  Or is it doubtful or fearful unable to soak in the gift of joy that is being presented to me?  Am I truly living out what’s in my heart?

James 1:2-6 (NIV)

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind.”

Leave a Reply

