rainy days….

We all have days when we feel low and down.  We also have days when we just feel like crying.  Today started as one of those days for me.  Probably due to pregnancy hormones and lack of sleep from the discomfort and pain from my sciatica, but mainly because I had a bad start to my morning and felt guilt creeping into my conscience for not having handled my morning in a better way.

But as I write this, it is becoming more clear to me that these were just lies that were trying to darken my thoughts and dampen my spirit.  As my head drooped down with the guilt and shame, I sensed a warm and gentle light encouraging me to lift my chin up and hear these words,”It’s okay, we can have a fresh start.”

So, in the midst of a chaotic start to my morning, I laid my hands on my children’s heads before they headed off to school and we prayed together for forgiveness and for a brand new start to a great day – a good and important reminder that we have the gift of new beginnings in every moment of our lives.

And then I was able to appreciate the small miracle of my day when the rain stopped and the sun finally came out to make the rest of my day beautiful!

Lamentations 3:22-23 (NIV)

“Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”

Leave a Reply

