it’s never too late to learn something new….

I’m looking forward to playing this beautiful cello!

Ever since I was young, I have always loved the deep, soulful sounds of the cello.  I remember having a go at playing my little sister’s cello and how I was so chuffed to produce the basic melody of “twinkle twinkle little star”.  Unfortunately, that was the last time I got to play the cello.

The other day, I was listening to my toddler sing twinkle twinkle little star and it took me back to that childhood memory of playing the cello.  Then a random thought came across my mind – how about I learn to play the cello?  There’s no reason why I can’t learn to play?!  Afterall, it’s never too late to learn something new, right?  A part of me also wants to inspire my own kids in pursuing new things.

Amazingly, one of my neighbours just happens to be a double bassist who helps run a string instruments business down our street.  When I saw him outside one afternoon, without hesitation, I asked him if he’d be able to help find a way for me to learn to play the cello.  I told him that I can use my toes and then he shared how he’s seen me with my kids [hopefully, not so much the crazy moments].  He seemed to have no doubt that I will be able to.

Thankfully, he responded with great enthusiasm and invited me to his shop to find a cello that would be the right fit for me.  And we found one!

I will be sharing more pictures/videos as I train my toes to play this magnificent instrument!

Leave a Reply

