imperfect world, imperfect me….

© copyright 2015. Rosie Jon . All Rights Reserved.

Light overcomes all darkness…

i know some people live their lives angry at God or they just say they don’t believe in an omnipotent existence of a master creator.

i know that when tragedy hits us, it hits us so bad that it can rock whatever faith we have and let us crumble down to the ground in despair.

maybe being born without arms was the best thing that ever happened to me because my brokenness came from the very beginning of my life. i entered the world not being my parents’ first “perfect” little baby, i was born completely and tragically imperfect in the worldly view.

but what if, because of my “imperfect” being, i lived my life being bitter, angry or feeling sorry for myself? what if i turned away from any belief or hope that there was a greater meaning to my life than just suffering and letting my brokenness become my label?

wouldn’t i just be like a broken toy forgotten and lost in the darkness, shoved under a pile of other broken and unwanted toys?

how then can i be seen or found?

ah, a light…. thats right. a light would take away all the darkness and not only will i be found, but every lost object around me will be found too.

it turns out that i had a light in my heart to switch on. and without my suffering in the darkness, i would have never known how powerful and life changing this light was and i would have never known that there were others around me who needed that light.

maybe, if there was no suffering around us, there would be no humanity, science, medicine nor even any form of evolution of thought and ideas to explain this broken world, but more importantly, would we be able to see the true beauty of our imperfect life?

I don’t have all the answers to life, but with the light that i have, i know one truth…. the truth that only light overcomes darkness.

close your eyes and even if you don’t believe in God, just ask for His light to shine and seek for a gentle voice that will whisper to your heart.

John 1:1-5 (NIV)
In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.

John 8:12
“I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

Leave a Reply

