what it means to be me…

© copyright 2014. Rosie Jon . All Rights Reserved.

illustration drawn by Rosie Jon

Let me try and answer the question… what it truthfully means to be me?

To be me, I believe, is to be a meaningful me.  I want to be living a purposeful life being the “best me” I can be in this lifetime.

It’s not just about being good, it’s not about defining myself with all the “good things” I do or about being a “good Christian”, but it’s just simply being me in the best way possible.  And how do I achieve that?  Where do I go to seek answers in this journey to find the “best me”?

I found my answers through the following scriptures found in the Bible:

Genesis 1:27 (NLT)
“So God created people in his own image; God patterned them after himself; male and female he created them.”

Colossians 2:9-10 (NLT)
“For in Christ the fullness of God lives in a human body, and you are complete through your union with Christ. He is the Lord over every ruler and authority in the universe.”

If the above scripture is true and we were created in God’s image, then surely, there exists a way to be the “best me” that I was designed to be.  Moreover, there is a promise of a greater increase in my potential to fulfill the purpose of my life i.e. to make a difference in this broken world by bringing light and lighting the way.

Yes, many churches have failed miserably in portraying our God in a truthful way.  Many see him as a judgmental, angry and unforgiving God, but the truth is, he loves us and invites us to his world of complete forgiveness and unconditional love.  Like how a father is to his own child… he wants us to grow, he wants us to mature and he wants us to be loved and share that love with others and he desperately wants us to have a relationship with Him. But because he loves us so much, he leaves it to be our own choice, our own freewill to be the me we want to be.

1 John 3:1-2 (NLT)
“See how very much our heavenly Father loves us, for he allows us to be called his children, and we really are! But the people who belong to this world don’t know God, so they don’t understand that we are his children. Yes, dear friends, we are already God’s children, and we can’t even imagine what we will be like when Christ returns. But we do know that when he comes we will be like him, for we will see him as he really is.”

One thought on “what it means to be me…

Leave a Reply

